A kick-start for my first project month

Our beautiful apple tree in bloom in May

Today, 1 August, it was time to go ahead with my first project, focusing on Mind & Soul. The day started with a really mindful walk down to our mailbox – a very short walk, but I carried it out without thinking about a thousand other things (which I usually do…), and instead focused on the gravel under my feet, the lovely sunshine, the green leaves of the trees above me and the birds twittering in the sky. Otherwise this is probably my toughest challenge, to be 100 per cent here and now – my mind tends to float away and I really find it difficult to concentrate on one thing at a time.

On my way to work, I listened to a radio program. It turned out to be a person describing his life story – from being a successful (but unhappy) financial yuppie to spending 16 years as a monk, in Thailand and elsewhere. It was a fascinating story and – of course – full of talk about meditation and mindfulness! It simply felt like the perfect introduction to my project.

One thing in particular caught my interest in the program, a sentence the speaker quoted from one of his former masters: “You will get to know everything you need when you need it, not before that – as long as you’re 100% present in life.” It reminded me that acceptance (including patience) is an important ingredient of mindfulness, and the well-known Serenity Prayer is a good guide here:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

Accepting what I cannot change is something I will also try to practice during my Mind & Soul month. Two such things came to my mind today:

  • to be patient when your car has to go very slowly on the road because there is a slow vehicle in front of you
  • to stop sulking about unpleasant unexpected expenses that you cannot avoid

Now time for my daily meditation session. Good night!

PS. I met my best friend today, and we booked a yoga class at the end of the month! Tomorrow I’ll try to find my old DVD and start practicing a little at home to prepare. And while I’m writing this a friend of mine posts an ad on Facebook that she wants to sell two books about yoga – must have been a sign for me, don’t you think? 😉 I’ll definitely buy them!

2 Comments

Filed under Meditation, Mind, Mindfulness, Soul, Titania, Yoga

2 responses to “A kick-start for my first project month

  1. What you say is so true! We always tend to think that we need to make the time for meditation and that if we cannot set aside 30min for it, it’s not even worth it. But as you say, meditation can be practised as being present in the moment, no matter where, and be it the walk to the post box! 🙂

  2. mvtitania

    Exactly! I had such problems with meditation when I thought I had to do it in a certain way. As soon as I let go of my expectations about time, place and manner it because so much easier…

Leave a Reply

