Facing my fear

I’m waiting at the university library. In an hour my first real introductory meeting in two years of studies will begin, and for the first time in a very long time, I’m not anxious about stepping into a classroom. There are a few butterflies in my stomach, but the panic that made me run from lessons in high school is gone. I was actually surprised to wake up so calm this morning. In an hour my butterflies may have become a bit wilder, but I will not let them stop me anymore. I will take a seat in the front of the classroom instead of in a corner at the back as I used to, and I will look into other people’s eyes and smile instead of staring at my desk. This time everything will be different, and so much better than before.

20120906-121522.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenge, Fear, Feelings, Social anxiety

Leave a Reply

