Culture down the drain…

Hm. I gave culture another go. I thought “This time, maybe”. But no, although I try to avoid saying that I don’t have the time to do something (I prefer to talk about priorities), even I have to admit that there are not enough hours in a day for me to do all the things I want to do. My “problem” is that there are simply too many things in life that I really enjoy, which means that no matter how much I prioritize, I cannot do it all.

Work (which is one of those things I do love nowadays…) takes time, although I don’t work full time any longer; downshifting is one of the best things I’ve ever done in order to find more space for other things I also enjoy doing. Our three children of course need time and attention. The dishwasher needs to be emptied and re-filled, clothes have to be washed, dried and sorted (ironing is one of the things I usually unprioritize…), food has to be bought and cooked, the house needs cleaning (although again this is certainly not one of our high-priority areas). And then I have managed to get regular physical exercise and meditation into my life again, ever since those areas were focus months in my Memento Vivere project.

2013-03-31 20.57.27So, I haven’t devoted more time this month to culture than I normally do. I have read one book, I’ve seen two films and I’ve done some singing and guitar playing (practicing for an event with my friend next week), but that’s it. The huge pile of movies next to my TV-set is still very much present and so is the pile of books on my bedside table. I’ll give it a try again in the summer holidays, when I have finished writing my latest book, which I usually spend time on in the evenings.

And the good thing is – again – that it doesn’t matter. When I was younger, I was easily stressed by such things as book piles. Getting older, I have become more patient. Piles of movies I haven’t seen, books and articles I haven’t read instead give me a feeling of wealth. How wonderful having so many pleasant experiences left to enjoy! The same goes for all the projects I want to do in my working-life. Being a creative person I tend to come up with new ideas all the time, but with time I have learnt to put them in a file and wait until the moment is right. I don’t have to fulfill all my dreams at once. That gives me a tremendous sense of joy, and also a reason to take care of my health in order to live a long life.

Tomorrow is April Fools’ Day and time for a new project month, focused on Just do it! I’ll be back!

Titania

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Priorities

Leave a Reply

